Madras Midtown Round Table 42

Madras Midtown Round Table 42 (‘MMRT 42’) is a group of young men between the ages of 18 and 40 who come together twice every month to bond and think of ways to better themselves and the community around them. The attitude of 42ers can be variously described as fun, and free spirited.

Yet 42ers are concerned about the community and country. We do what is necessary to influence positive change in a subtle way through our projects without much fanfare and let actions speak for themselves. We are part of a larger organization called Round Table India whose primary aim is to develop the fellowship of young men through the medium of their business and community service activities.

Upright and respectable young men, irrespective of caste, creed and religion are invited to become members by existing members. At age 40 members compulsorily retire to keep the group young and dynamic. MMRT42 was formed more than 40 years ago and is a vibrant Table participating in a variety of national and international events.

Charter Date & Inauguration date:  4th October 1976

Round Table India (‘RTI’)

The Round Table organization is internationally known as a friendship organisation, founded in Norwich, England by Louis Marchesi in the year 1927, who was then a Rotarian. From a small group of 8 members, today it has grown to 43,000 members across 52 countries representing every corner of the world.

Round Table came to India in 1957 with the formation of Madras Round Table No 1 on November 14th 1962 by John Barton with 100 members. Over the past four decades it has grown to become a 3000 member strong association spread in over 90 cities having close to 300 city based chapters or tables. Our membership base comprises of businessmen, entrepreneurs, technocrats and professionals who can rise above personal concerns to seek and serve the larger needs of the community.

From the day of its inception, Round Table has been a non-religious, non-political and non-sectarian organisation offering its members the best opportunity to connect with each other, have fun whilst giving something back to their community.

The young business professional men of Round Table India get together round the table, adopt methods that proved good in the past, adapt them to the changing times and wherever possible, improve them, emphasizing the speech of the Prince of Wales. The phrase ‘Adopt, Adapt and Improve’ is a key facet of the organisation.

On the administration front, Round Table India has a very active National Board, which guides the affairs of the association. Round Table India is divided into Areas, which have their own Area Board to administer them. The National Secretariat, the hub of all activities of Round Table India, is located at Chennai.

To learn more about Round Table India and our inititiatives – Please visit

Legacy of MMRT 42

Past Chairmen of the MMRT 42

2018-2019 Tr. Piyush Bhandari
2017-2018 Tr. Deepak Subramaniam
2016-2017 Tr. Prasad Vijayakumar
2015-2016 Tr. Chella Krishna
2014-2015 Tr. George B. Cherian
2013-2014 Tr. Mahesh Ramamurthy
2012-2013 Tr. Suman Voora
2011-2012 Tr. Sandeep Mall
2010-2011 Tr. Nathella Prasanna
2009-2010 Tr. Hari Shankar Balaji
2008-2009 Tr. Sandilya Venkatesh
2007-2008 Tr. Rajesh Sundrani
2006-2007 Tr. K. Ravi Shankar
2005-2006 Tr. Sesha Sai
2004-2005 Tr. Paul K Jacob
2003-2004 Tr. Anand Kathare
2002-2003 Tr. N. S. Balamukundan
2001-2002 Tr. Shivkumar Eashwaran
2000-2001 Tr. P.B. Prasad
1999-2000 Tr. M. Amarnath
1998-1999 Tr. Raghu Raman
1997-1998 Tr. V. Mukund
1996-1997 Tr. V. Ravichandran
1995-1996 Tr. Bharat Raman
1994-1995 Tr. V. K. Shivakumar
1993-1994 Tr. K. Prakash
1992-1993 Tr. Mahendra Parmar
1991-1992 Tr. G. Ramkumar
1990-1991 Tr. A. Sridharan
1989-1990 Tr. R. Ramesh
1988-1989 Tr.G. Thyagarajan
1987-1988 Tr.Ashok Bajaj
1986-1987 Tr. A. K. Rajkumar
1985-1986 Tr. P. Srivatsan
1984-1985 Tr. G. Ramkumar
1983-1984 Tr. N. S. Ravindran
1982-1983 Tr. Mohan Raman
1981-1982 Tr. R. K. Agarwal
1980-1981 Tr. G. Sudhakar
1979-1980 Tr. Mahendra Dadha
1978-1979 Tr. James Fredrick
1977-1978 Tr.R. K. Agarwal
1976-1977 Tr. M. Sivaram

International / National & Area Leaders from MMRT 42

International – Leadership and Office Bearers positions held
Shivkumar Easwaran,
Treasurer, RT International (2007-2008)
Asia Pacific Chairman (2007-2008)
National President, Round Table India (2006-2007)
National Honorary Tabler (2012-2013)
Area 2, Honorary Tabler (2012-2013)

Suman Voora
WOCO Chairman (2017-18)
President, Round Table India (2015-2016)
Vice President, Round Table India (2014-2015)
National Secretary, Round Table India (2013-2014)
Convenor, National Round Table Celebrity Premium League (2012-2013)
National Convenor, 50th RTI AGM (2010-2012)

National and Area - Leadership and Office Bearers positions held

Vice President, Association of 41 Clubs of India (2014-2015)

Harishankar Balaji
National Publicity Convenor (2014-2015)
Chairman, Area -2 (2013-2014)
Vice Chairman, Area -2 (2012-2013)
Secretary/Treasurer, Area -2 (2011-2012)
Convenor, IPC/IRO, Area -2 (2014-2015)

Sandilya Venkatesh
National IT Committee Member (2014-2015)
Secretariat, National Chief Committee Member (2010-2011)
Chairman, Area-2 (2011-2012)
Convenor, Internal Extension, Area 2 (2010-2011)

George B Cherian
National Convenor, Blood Donation (2015-2016)

Prasad Vijayakumar
Rules and Legal Compliance Convenor, Area 2 (2012-2013)
Convenor, Inter Area/MTM (2010-2011)

Mahesh Ramamurthy
Publicity Convenor, Area 2 (2012-2013)

Sricharan Sridhar
Area – Inter-table Events Convenor (2017 – 18)

Vasudev Das
Area – Sports and Jaffa Convenor (2016-17)